Back to
More Tutorials

How to create and edit supervisor passwords

Want to have better control over your store sales? See how to set up a supervisor password in Nex to authorize discounts and item deletions on the sales screen.

Important

  • This feature is available using the Nex Premium plan. Click here and check out all our subscription plans.
  • If you haven't added your team members yet, click here to see how to create a user in Nex.

What is the supervisor password for?

Depending on how you manage your store, you might want to restrict your team from giving discounts or deleting items already added to a sale.

If an employee tries to do any of these actions, Nex will prompt for supervisor credentials before allowing the action. You or another manager can enter the password directly on the sales screen to authorize the task for restricted users. This gives your business extra security without slowing down customer service.

Let's learn how to create or edit a supervisor password?

1. Open Nex and click on the user initial icon in the top right corner of the screen.

2. Click on Manage Users.

3. Click on Edit next to the desired user account.

4. Access the Supervisor tab.

5. To create your first password, enable the option This user is a supervisor.

Once enabled, the field to create a supervisor password will appear on the screen.

6. Enter your preferred password in the Password field, then click on Save.

The password can be up to 10 characters long, using numbers and letters only.

7. If the supervisor already has a password and needs to change it, go to the Supervisor tab and click on Change supervisor password.

7.1. Enter the current password.

7.2. Type the new password, then type in the new password again to confirm.

7.3. Click on Save.

8. Click on Save - F2.

Done! The new supervisor password is set for the selected user.

How to block employees from giving discounts or deleting items from sales

9. On the Users screen, edit the profile of the employee you want to restrict.

10. Access the Permissions tab.

11. Under Sales permissions, uncheck A - Apply discounts to restrict discount access. Uncheck Q - Delete item from sale to prevent removing items already entered on the sales screen.

Done! Now, the supervisor password will be required at the checkout screen whenever a restricted user attempts to delete items or apply discounts during a sale.

‍

See more Tutorials of  

More Tutorials